This repository was archived by the owner on Jul 17, 2026. It is now read-only.
Repository navigation
Replies: 0 comments
Sign up for free
to join this conversation on GitHub.
Already have an account?
Sign in to comment
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Please see #95 for some additional context. Originally opened by @angelocordon.
Context
When a user asks to delete their data, how should the app handle their records? If they post a Resource, should the Discussions attached to the Resource get deleted as well?
Short answer: the content will not be deleted, but the attributed user will be anonymized.
Some thoughts:
[Linda] the way Slack handles when people email to request account deletion is it changes their username to
deactivatedordeleted, but the data remains. I think that’s how we currently have it in our Django app too —on_delete=django.db.models.deletion.CASCADE, meaning the data gets reflected to an anonymous/fixtured default user[Angelo] I wonder if we can look at this from a perspective of if someone submits a resource, it's a collective pool that the whole organization owns?
[From Bethany] Be upfront about expectations:
To Do
All reactions