Repository navigation
Contentstore migration plan [FC-0138] - #880
bradenmacdonald wants to merge 2 commits into
Conversation
|
Thanks for the pull request, @bradenmacdonald! This repository is currently maintained by Once you've gone through the following steps feel free to tag them in a comment and let them know that your changes are ready for engineering review. 🔘 Get product approvalIf you haven't already, check this list to see if your contribution needs to go through the product review process.
🔘 Provide contextTo help your reviewers and other members of the community understand the purpose and larger context of your changes, feel free to add as much of the following information to the PR description as you can:
🔘 Get a green buildIf one or more checks are failing, continue working on your changes until this is no longer the case and your build turns green. DetailsWhere can I find more information?If you'd like to get more details on all aspects of the review process for open source pull requests (OSPRs), check out the following resources: When can I expect my changes to be merged?Our goal is to get community contributions seen and reviewed as efficiently as possible. However, the amount of time that it takes to review and merge a PR can vary significantly based on factors such as:
💡 As a result it may take up to several weeks or months to complete a review and merge your PR. |
|
|
||
| A management command migrates **one course run at a time**: | ||
|
|
||
| 1. Mark the course read-only for file writes (at the new routing layer per decision 2). During this time, any contentstore write operations will result in an error. While read-only, a warning should be shown in Studio on the course Files page, and importing over that course should also be blocked. |
There was a problem hiding this comment.
While read-only, a warning should be shown in Studio on the course Files page
This won't just happen on the Files page. It can also occur with course_image, banner_image, video_thumbnail_image, etc. Would this also happen when creating a new rerun of the course?
There was a problem hiding this comment.
A re-run should work fine, since re-runs do not modify the original course.
It can also occur with course_image, banner_image, video_thumbnail_image, etc.
Good thinking, but most of those are just text field settings on the advanced settings page; changing the text fields will still work fine. I think the only other place where you can actually upload a file is the "Course card image" widget on "Schedule & Details", and it's very unlikely that users will be changing that during the brief migration period. In any case, it's more of an implementation detail, and this ADR just needs to capture the high-level overview of the process and the major decisions about it, not list every UX detail.
|
|
||
| Rollout: | ||
|
|
||
| * **Willow:** opt-in, with a system-level setting controlling whether new courses should use the legacy or migrated mode, plus a tool/command for migrating courses either individually or in bulk. |
There was a problem hiding this comment.
And what about reruns in Willow? If the setting is set to "migrated," does creating a rerun of a legacy course result in a legacy rerun or a migrated one?
There was a problem hiding this comment.
Hmm, I think re-runs should generally use the system default for new courses, whatever that setting is.
If things are working fine, there's no reason not to use "migrated" for new courses, and if there's issues then the default setting for new courses will be "legacy" and re-runs won't break anything.
ba6b12a to
20c4c13
Compare
This is a high-level plan for replacing contentstore, building on the earlier PRs in this stack (mostly #822).
Read the rendered docs here
AI disclosure: Claude helped me with research, writing, and formatting the RST, but I wrote/rewrote much of the final content.